Schools the big winners in Young Scientists Awards

NYSYA 2011The winners of the 2011 NATA Young Scientists of the Year Award have been announced by the Association’s CEO, Jennifer Evans. “We had a tremendous response in this year’s competition with over 300 entries from across Australia.

“The outstanding quality of the entries and the students’ application of chemistry in a wide variety of experiments show that the young people of Australia will play their part in this country’s scientific future.”

First place in the age category of -

7 & 8 years :

went to Magnus Andersson of Laburnum Primary School, Blackburn VIC. His entry – ‘The Great Science Experiment’, was commended by the judges for showing the relationships between cooking and chemistry. 

Magnus Andersson


The Great Science Experiment
Click here to play the video

9 & 10 years :

Juliette Naptonwent to Juliette Napton, from Abbotsleigh, Wahroonga NSW, whose entry – ‘Rocks are Oresome, Chemicals are Reactionary’ earned the judges’ praise for its scientific approach to analysis and demonstration of the effects of various chemical compounds on several types of rocks and the resulting changes to the pH of the compounds.

11 & 12 years:

All Students

went to the 49-student team from Year 5/6, Teesdale Primary School, Teesdale, VIC for their entry ‘Acids and Bases’.  The judges said it showed an excellent understanding of chemistry and its impacts on the school’s kitchen garden, and was also an outstanding application of the principles of scientific research.

The winner's school in each age category will receive a $3000 donation, with an additional cash prize of $500 for each winning group.

The annual contest is now in its fifth year and for the first time has been sponsored by Snap Printing.  It has received support from the Federal Minister for Science, Kim Carr, who believes the competition will encourage new generations of students to secure our position in the scientific world of the future.

“We congratulate our winners and thank everybody who entered this year’s competition,” Ms Evans said. “It’s been so encouraging to see that our scientific future will be built on the knowledge of these talented young people.”

To view some of the other entries, please click here.

For more information please contact:
Diane Lyons, NATA Marketing & Communications Coordinator
Ph: (02) 9736 8255 or email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.