National Association of Testing Authorities (NATA) Australia announced today that Dr Geoff Hogg will succeed Mr Alastair Ross as Chairman of NATA. The appointment will be effective when Mr Ross steps down at the conclusion of the 2016 Annual General Meeting on 18 October 2016.

The Board thanks Mr Ross for his contribution, and dedication to advancing the mission of NATA over the last two decades, especially during his term as the Chair of the Board.

Mr Ross was the Director of the National Institute of Forensic Science - a directorate of the Australia New Zealand Policing Advisory Agency.

Mr Ross started his association with NATA in 1992 when he chaired the steering committee to set up the forensic science program. Mr Ross was appointed as the inaugural Chair of the Forensic Science Accreditation Advisory Committee after the forensic science accreditation program was introduced in 1994. Mr Ross was elected to the Board in 2003 and elected Chair of the Board in 2011.

‘My association with NATA for over 20 years has been a rewarding journey as assessor and member of a technical committee, and a great honour to serve on the Board for the last 13 years. Next year will be NATA’s 70th Anniversary and I have no doubt about NATA’s bright future and have complete confidence that NATA will continue to prosper under Geoff’s leadership with support from the Board, management, staff, and the volunteers who serve as technical assessors and technical committee members,” Mr Ross said.

Dr Hogg was the Director of the Microbiological Diagnostic Unit, Public Health Laboratory at the University of Melbourne and is a Fellow of the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia, and a Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians.

Dr Hogg was elected to the Board in 2008 and served as Chair of the Board’s Audit and Risk Committee until 2011. Dr Hogg has a long and extensive association with NATA as an assessor for Medical Testing and as an Authorised Representative for Medical, Veterinary and Biological laboratories.

“It is a great privilege to be the Chair of the NATA Board. I share Alastair’s optimism about NATA’s future. I am looking forward to making a contribution through the Board to promote and enhance the value of accreditation to its members, stakeholders, and the general community,’ Dr Hogg said.

For any queries, please contact:

Katina Kalergis
Manager, Communications and Training Services Group
Ph: (02) 9736 8222 M: 0409 077 100
E: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


DRAFT agenda for comments - Calibration AAC DRAFT agenda for comments - Calibration AAC
DRAFT agenda for Calibration Accreditation Advisory Committee meeting is now available for your comments.


Technical Assessors News - Nov 2017 now published Technical Assessors News - Nov 2017 now published
Technical Assessors News - Nov 2017 issue now published on the website. The newsletter can be accessed from the 'Media and Events' tab of our website:


Inspection AAC Meeting 2018 Inspection AAC Meeting 2018
The 17th Inspection AAC meeting will take place on 7 March 2018 in Sydney.


2017 NATA Young Scientist of the Year Award winners announced 2017 NATA Young Scientist of the Year Award winners announced
And the winners are… The winners of the 2017 NATA Young Scientists of the Year Award have been chosen! The competition once again attracted a large number of entries, submitted by primary school students across Australia and it appears that our theme for this year of ‘Sustainable Planet’ really struck a chord with students and teachers.


NATA Rules updated NATA Rules updated
NATA Rules and NATA Rules Amendment sheet has been recently updated on the NATA website. The updated documents can be downloaded from ’Accreditation Information’ area on our website: