Winners Announced - 2018 Young Scientists of the Year Awards

05 December 2018

The judges have made their decisions and we're delighted to announce the top three prize winners in each age group in the 2018 Young Scientists of the Year Awards: 


7 & 8 year olds

First place: Angel Aquino, Newmarket State School, QLD

Second place: Luca Wilgen, Genesis Christian College, QLD

Third place: Diya Prasad and Het Modi, Eatons Hill State School, QLD


9 & 10 year olds

First place: Bethany van Hecke, Our Lady of the Rosary, QLD

Second place: Claire Sullivan and Amalee Doyle, Lilli Pilli Public School, NSW

Third place: Emilia Tassone and Anna Kokkinaki, Mount Lawley Primary School, WA


11 & 12 year olds

First place: Ioanna Kalergis, St Joseph the Worker Catholic Primary School, NSW

Second place: Charlotte and William Kennedy, Umina Beach Public School, NSW

Third place: Cooper and Bradman Miller-Smith, Buderim Mountain State School, QLD


Congratulations to all of our winners and many thanks to all the students who took the time to put together their entries - your support for our competition and continued interest in all things science is very much appreciated.

And of course a very big thank you to the teachers whose encouragement and passion for educating their students provides such a solid foundation for them to build upon. 

If you would like to be included on the mailing list for next year’s competition, please email your details to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., Administration and Promotions Officer.