NATA is the authority that provides independent assurance of technical competence through
a proven network of best
practice industry experts for customers who require confidence
in the delivery of their products and services.
NATA provides assessment, accreditation
and training services to laboratories and technical facilities Read More

- NATA’s Novel Coronavirus (COVID - 19) Update


2017 NATA Young Scientist of the Year Award winners announced

And the winners are…

The winners of the 2017 NATA Young Scientists of the Year Award have been chosen! The competition once again attracted a large number of entries, submitted by primary school students across Australia and it appears that our theme for this year of ‘Sustainable Planet’ really struck a chord with students and teachers.

Our dedicated judges spent hours sifting through the hundreds of entries received from across the country before finally selecting the winners in each age group.

The first prize winner in the 7 & 8 years category was Bethany S from St Felix Primary School in Bankstown, NSW. Bethany’s investigation focussed on chemicals leaching into soils from waste products and how this affects the environment.

Second prize winner in this age group was Kieran L from Genesis Christian College in Bray Park, QLD and a group entry from Nicole C, Ishaa B and Alannah T from Tara Anglican School for Girls in North Parramatta, NSW took out third prize.

First prize in the 9 & 10 years category went to a group from St Hilda’s Anglican School for Girls in Mosman Park, WA. Ruby F, Amelia M, Gianan T, Amisha V, Chloe W. Laura W and Krista Z focussed on the biodegradability of everyday items and whether the claims of biodegradability were accurate.

Second prize in this group went to Karamea D and Dylan D from the Christian Aboriginal Parent Directed School in WA and third place went to Bethany H from Our Lady of the Rosary, in Kenmore QLD.

Desiree F from New Farm State School in Queensland won the first prize in the 11 & 12 years category with her project which focussed on sustainability issues and solutions.

Second prize winner was Dean C from St Mary’s Primary School in Grafton NSW with the third prize being shared between Joshua and Taylor M from Mudgeeraba Creek State School in QLD.

The first prize winners will receive their cheques and certificates at official school presentations during November. Certificates and prizes will be sent to all other winners within the next few weeks.

Congratulations to all of our winners and to everyone who entered…and a special thank you to those wonderful teachers who support their students and foster their love of science.